Events  Classes  Jobs 
    Sign in  
 
 
With Vincent Lepetit (Prof. @ LaBRI, University of Bordeaux).
Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 12:00 PM   Absolutely Free
Online
 
     
 
 
              

              

 
Sign up for our awesome New York
Tech Events weekly email newsletter.
   
EVENT DETAILS
At this event, you will get practical tips on how to cooperate with the academic world, giving you the edge to get ahead of the competition, & will have the unique opportunity to meet world-class researchers prepared & ready to answer your questions.

Registration for the event is free! Sign up on the Eventbrite page & we'll send you a link to our meetup before the event - https://bit.ly/tooploox-ai-on-production

The event will have two parts: a panel discussion & some open networking - listen to AI experts & chat online with your fellow attendees - just like in live, pre-COVID conferences!

Agenda:
Panel Discussion 9 AM (PDT) | 12 PM (EDT) | 6 PM (CEST) - 45 minutes

We have invited world-class AI practitioners & researchers to sit together & answer the following questions:

What value do AI researchers bring to commercial/startup projects?

What does the cooperation between industry & academia look like?

State-of-the-art: How do you develop a solution that doesn't exist yet?

Let's take a closer look at the speakers we have lined up for the event:

Vincent Lepetit - A full professor at the LaBRl University of Bordeaux

Dr. Vincent Lepetit is a Full Professor at LaBRI, University of Bordeaux, & an associate member of the Inria Manao team. He also supervises a research group in Computer Vision for Augmented Reality at the Institute for Computer Graphics & Vision, TU Graz. He received a Ph.D in Computer Vision in 2001 from the University of Nancy, France, after working in the ISA INRIA team. He then joined the Virtual Reality Lab at EPFL as a post-doctoral fellow & became a founding member of the Computer Vision Laboratory.

Aleksander Holyski - A Ph.D. candidate in Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle

Aleksander is a Ph.D. candidate in Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, where he is advised by Steve Seitz. He is also a part of the UW Reality Lab & the Graphics & Imaging Lab (GRAIL). His industrial experience includes several internships at Google & Facebook. Aleksander received his B.S. from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, during which time he also interned at Qualcomm in San Diego.

Kwang Yi Moon - An assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria (UVic)

Kwang Yi Moon is currently an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria (UVic). Prior to UVic, he worked as a post-doctoral researcher at the Computer Vision Lab in cole Polytechnique Fdrale de Lausanne (EPFL, Switzerland), working with Prof. Pascal Fua & Prof. Vincent Lepetit. He received a Ph.D. from Seoul National University, under the supervision of Prof. Jin Young Choi, as well as his B.Sc.

Lukasz Kidziski - A researcher for the Mobilize Center at Stanford

Lukasz Kidziski is a co-founder of Saliency.ai, a medical imaging platform, & a researcher in the Mobilize Center at Stanford, working on the intersection of computer science, statistics, & biomechanics. Previously, he was a researcher in the CHILI group, Computer-Human Interaction in Learning & Instruction, at EPFL. He obtained his Ph.D from the Universit Libre de Bruxelles in mathematical statistics, working on time series analysis & functional data. He obtained two master's degrees, one in mathematics & one in computer science, from the University of Warsaw.

Krzysztof Geras - An assistant professor at the NYU School of Medicine

Krzysztof Geras is an assistant professor at the NYU School of Medicine. He previously worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the NYU Center for Data Science with Prof. Kyunghyun Cho, Prof. Linda Moy & Prof. Sungheon G. Kim. His main interests are the unsupervised learning of neural networks, model compression, transfer learning & the evaluation of machine learning models. He obtained his Ph.D in Machine Learning from the University of Edinburgh & his BSc & MSc degrees in Computer Science from the University of Warsaw. He also did industry internships with Microsoft Research, Amazon, Microsoft & J.P. Morgan.

9.45 AM (PDT) | 12.45 PM (EDT) | 6.45 PM (CEST) - 15 minutes

You will have the unique opportunity to ask questions & get answers directly from the panelists

Networking Session 10 AM (PDT) | 1 PM (EDT) | 7 PM (CEST) - 60 minutes

After the event, you will have the chance to get in touch with other members, ask questions & get help from other AI engineers & researchers.

This event is open to anyone & everyone across the globe with an interest in AI.

Registration for the event is free! Sign up on the Eventbrite page & we'll send you a link to our meetup before the event - https://bit.ly/tooploox-ai-on-production

In case of questions, contact: alicja.wojcik@tooploox.com

PS. Ever heard of Tooploox?

Tooploox is one of the most recognized AI agencies in Europe, supporting a comprehensive Full Stack team with particular achievements in the areas of Computer Vision & Machine Learning.

 
 
 
 
© 2020 GarysGuide      Terms